4/30/14 News Release: Green Party Hassig Promises Much Environmental Protection Activism in Response to Rejection of Petition

Green Party Hassig Promises Much Environmental Protection Activism in
Response to Rejection of Petition

Running for Congress is important to me because it serves as a way to
raise very important issues that are not being raised by the other
candidates.  These issues include:  stopping hydro fracking; banning
factory farming; banning genetic engineering; free education; free
health care; expanding organic farming; creating an all defensive
purposes military; warning the public of chemical exposure health
hazards, including arsenic in rice and persistent organic pollutants
(POPs) in all animal fats; ending participation in the World Trade
Organization; taxing sales of financial products; and establishing a
50K income tax standard deduction.  I believe that doing the good work
of raising these issues in a series of congressional campaigns will go
far to making these things happen.  Additionally, I believe that
running for Congress repeatedly can lead to eventually winning the
election.

Earlier today, the New York State Board of Elections (BOE) decided to
reject my designating petition.  My petition was filed exactly as the
BOE website instructed that it be filed.  It is unfair for the BOE to
deprive me of the benefit of having obtained sufficient signatures to
have a ballot line in a Green Party primary.  The BOE should have
accepted my petition since it was only due to the negligence of the
BOE that my petition was not filed in accordance with all state and
federal requirements.  If the BOE had revised its instructions for
filing the petition so as to make known the new requirement for
arrival on the next business day after mailing on the last day of the
filing period, I would have used overnight mail and my petition would
have arrived on time.  Since the instructions were not updated in this
way, I used Priority Mail and the petition arrived late.  This was not
my fault and I should not suffer because of the BOE negligence.

I am thinking about suing the BOE for negligence.  What I am thinking
is that pursuing legal action costs time and money that is probably
better spent raising the issues that I raise.

My decision is to now shift all efforts to environmental protection
activism and not spend another minute or another penny on political
activism in 2014.  Truth is 2016 will be here in a flash and I will be
back in the running again.  I am going to really go wild on protecting
the Earth Mother from hydro fracking and protecting the cows, chickens
and pigs from factory farming.  Viva the Environmental Protection
Revolution!  Viva the Farm Animal Protection Revolution!  Viva all the
good revolutions that we Americans can start and persevere in!!

I am hopeful that Green Party candidate Matt Funiciello will be open
to dialogue on the issues that I have promoted, especially stopping
hydro fracking, banning factory farming and warning the public of
avoidable chemical exposure health hazards of the food supply.  I
certainly am very glad that a fellow Green Party member succeeded in
obtaining a ballot line in 2014.  Go Matt.

Leave a Reply

