10/20/12 News Release: Confronting Urban NYS Green Party Leaders Who Attacked Me for Saying Mexicans Should Not be Milking American Cows

Confronting Urban NYS Green Party Leaders Who Attacked Me for Saying
Mexicans Should Not be Milking American Cows

Green Party Candidate Hassig on the Abuse of Dairy Cattle on Factory Farms

A citizen residing in my congressional district asked the question,
“What is your position on having immigrants in America for milking
cows and doing other farm work?”

My answer was very straightforward and simple.  I said that I was
opposed to having non-English speaking people caring for and milking
cows in America.  I explained that caring for and milking cows was
relatively complex work that could not be done without the ability to
speak and read English:  the farm owners and managers speak English
and most do not speak any other language; the medications and
chemicals used on dairy farms are not all labeled with languages other
than English; the mechanical equipment used on dairy farms is not all
labelled with languages other than English.  I took the position that
it was a further abuse of already much abused cattle to employ
non-English speaking people to care for them and milk them.  I
finished my answer to the question from a potential voter by say, “I
would like to see the Mexican dairy farm workers get their asses
kicked out of our country.”  I said it.  I meant it.  I strongly
oppose the use of non-English speaking farm workers to care for and
milk dairy cows.

I did not think or speak anything that involved any negativity based
in considerations of race or nationality.  I used the word “Mexicans”
because it is my experience that some of the non-English speaking
people who work on dairy farms in New York State are Mexicans.  I have
personal knowledge that non-English speaking farm workers on the
factory dairy farm across the road from my farm in St. Lawrence County
are Mexicans.  That is the nationality that is stated when the people
I talk to in St. Lawrence County talk about these farm workers.  I did
not seek to convey any negative attitude toward Mexicans when I made
this statement.  I said Mexicans because I believe that Mexicans are
doing this work.  To the best of my knowledge, Mexicans are doing this
work.

Caring for and milking dairy cows can not be done in a sufficiently
well-done way by people who do not speak the English language on
factory farms where the managers and owners speak English and most
often speak no other language.  Low quality care and milking leads to
mastitis problems for the cows.  Low quality care and milking leads to
more suffering for the cows that are suffering too much when they are
cared for by people who speak English.  Using non-English speaking
workers to care for and milk dairy cows on factory farms is very
abusive of cows.  I am very, very opposed to factory farmers abusing
cows.  I am for banning factory farming because it is abusive of
cattle.

America must face and deal with the abuse of cattle that takes place
on factory dairy farms.  America must ban factory dairy farms.

Dealing with the Urban Green Party Leaders That Know Nothing About
Caring for and Milking Dairy Cattle on Factory Farms

I have spoken with Gloria Mattera and Michael O’Neil, two of the New
York State Green Party leaders that wrote a denunciation of me and
published that denunciation on the website of the Green Party of New
York State.  I found Ms. Mattera to be offensively elitist in her
respone to my criiticism of her bad behavior.  She hung up on me when
I started to describe the utter lack of knowledge that she
demonstrated concerning the care and milking of dairy cows on factory
farms.  I called her back and left a voice mail that included the
word, “Bitch”.  I said that and I meant it.  It is my opinion that
Gloria Mattera is an American elitist bitch.

I spoke with Michael O’Neil at length about the reasons why I said
that Mexicans should not be caring for and milking cows on American
factory farms.  He listened to what I had to say and then offered to
publish a statement authored by me on the Green Party website.   I
stated that this was not what I wanted.  I stated that I wanted a
retraction and an apology to be published on the Green Party website
by no later than midnight on October 19th.  I stated that if this was
not done, I would file suit against Ms. Mattera, Mr. O’Neil and Mr. La
Venia.  I said this and I meant it.  I am not going to accept this
abuse from urban Green Party leaders who know nothing about dairy
cattle and factory farms.  I look forward to teaching these three less
than honorable Green Party leaders about love of cattle and what a
good, strong American man will do to forge ahead with speaking out
about the abuse of cattle on factory farms.


Donald L. Hassig, Director
Cancer Action NY
Cancer Action News Network
P O Box 340
Colton, NY USA 13625
315.262.2456
www.canceractionny.org

Leave a Reply

